| Topic: |
Religions > Atheism |
| User: |
"Sanitys Little Helper" |
| Date: |
02 Sep 2007 05:50:58 PM |
| Object: |
Has Terry Austin got a new Roadrunner account? |
I think we should be told.
http://tinyurl.com/2pu36c
Let's face it, you're the prime suspect, Terry, along with Loiodice.
Anyway, I will find out who sporged me, Usenet never forgets. Consider
yourself to be under invesigation for as long as it takes.
--
David Silverman C.B.E.
aa #2208
Not authentic without this signature.
Not necessarily authentic with it, either.
.
|
|
| User: "David Canzi -- non-mailable" |
|
| Title: Re: Has Terry Austin got a new Roadrunner account? |
02 Sep 2007 09:46:46 PM |
|
|
In article <Xns999FF29B077A2mxyzptlk@194.177.96.26>,
Sanity's Little Helper <elvish@noshpam.org> wrote:
I think we should be told.
http://tinyurl.com/2pu36c
Let's face it, you're the prime suspect, Terry, along with Loiodice.
Anyway, I will find out who sporged me, Usenet never forgets. Consider
yourself to be under invesigation for as long as it takes.
You were not targeted personally. The probability that either
Terry or Loiodice did this is about 2/7,000,000,000.
Somebody has lately been sporge-flooding newsgroups, apparently
selected at random, using the names of actual usenet posters and
text derived from some article or articles about the US government,
3-letter spook agencies, and routine surveillance of US citizens.
Here are two other samples posted to the same newsgroup at around
the same time as your example, but with different victims in the
"From" address.
http://groups.google.ca/group/alt.sci.physics/msg/92dadce84ad46a7c?hl=en
http://groups.google.ca/group/alt.sci.physics/msg/a260f715497afa21?hl=en
I have been watching this person's activities for the past couple
weeks. Initially he was posting thousands of articles to sci.crypt
per day containing randomly-generated nearly grammatical nonsense.
Since then he has changed tactics, spreading his forgery floods
over several newsgroups at a time.
I recognize the software being used for these sporge floods: it
was written long ago by somebody calling himself "hipcrime" who
has, over the years, periodically used the software to vandalize
newsgroups, then posted a URL where anybody else could download
the software if they wanted to use it. He took care that neither
the postings nor the URL could be used to trace his real location.
The latest attacks are similar except that the postings containing
the URL come from ukr.net, the location of "nucleus".
Nucleus is a long-term nuisance who posted in net-abuse newsgroups,
back when I used to read them, and seemed to think that every
method proposed to make USENET less vulnerable to attack was an
intolerable infringement on his rights. He is clearly the kind of
person who would write such a program and use it. The similarity
in behaviour between nucleus and hipcrime, notably making the
software avaiable for free downloading, suggests that they are
one and the same person, but falls short of proof.
--
David Canzi | Eternal truths come and go. |
.
|
|
|
| User: "Sanitys Little Helper" |
|
| Title: Re: Has Terry Austin got a new Roadrunner account? |
03 Sep 2007 01:54:25 AM |
|
|
(David Canzi -- non-mailable) wrote in
news:fbfsim$lne$1@rumours.uwaterloo.ca to alt.atheism:
In article <Xns999FF29B077A2mxyzptlk@194.177.96.26>,
Sanity's Little Helper <elvish@noshpam.org> wrote:
I think we should be told.
http://tinyurl.com/2pu36c
Let's face it, you're the prime suspect, Terry, along with Loiodice.
Anyway, I will find out who sporged me, Usenet never forgets. Consider
yourself to be under invesigation for as long as it takes.
You were not targeted personally. The probability that either
Terry or Loiodice did this is about 2/7,000,000,000.
Somebody has lately been sporge-flooding newsgroups, apparently
selected at random, using the names of actual usenet posters and
text derived from some article or articles about the US government,
3-letter spook agencies, and routine surveillance of US citizens.
Here are two other samples posted to the same newsgroup at around
the same time as your example, but with different victims in the
"From" address.
http://groups.google.ca/group/alt.sci.physics/msg/92dadce84ad46a7c?hl=e
n
http://groups.google.ca/group/alt.sci.physics/msg/a260f715497afa21?hl=e
n
I have been watching this person's activities for the past couple
weeks. Initially he was posting thousands of articles to sci.crypt
per day containing randomly-generated nearly grammatical nonsense.
Since then he has changed tactics, spreading his forgery floods
over several newsgroups at a time.
I recognize the software being used for these sporge floods: it
was written long ago by somebody calling himself "hipcrime" who
has, over the years, periodically used the software to vandalize
newsgroups, then posted a URL where anybody else could download
the software if they wanted to use it. He took care that neither
the postings nor the URL could be used to trace his real location.
The latest attacks are similar except that the postings containing
the URL come from ukr.net, the location of "nucleus".
Nucleus is a long-term nuisance who posted in net-abuse newsgroups,
back when I used to read them, and seemed to think that every
method proposed to make USENET less vulnerable to attack was an
intolerable infringement on his rights. He is clearly the kind of
person who would write such a program and use it. The similarity
in behaviour between nucleus and hipcrime, notably making the
software avaiable for free downloading, suggests that they are
one and the same person, but falls short of proof.
Thanks for that, David, that makes sense. Why do people do that? What's
going on in their heads FFS?
--
David Silverman C.B.E.
aa #2208
Not authentic without this signature.
Not necessarily authentic with it, either.
.
|
|
|
| User: "Mark K. Bilbo" |
|
| Title: Re: Has Terry Austin got a new Roadrunner account? |
03 Sep 2007 08:29:40 AM |
|
|
On Mon, 03 Sep 2007 08:54:25 +0200, Sanity's Little Helper wrote:
dmcanzi@remulak.uwaterloo.ca (David Canzi -- non-mailable) wrote in
news:fbfsim$lne$1@rumours.uwaterloo.ca to alt.atheism:
In article <Xns999FF29B077A2mxyzptlk@194.177.96.26>, Sanity's Little
Helper <elvish@noshpam.org> wrote:
I think we should be told.
http://tinyurl.com/2pu36c
Let's face it, you're the prime suspect, Terry, along with Loiodice.
Anyway, I will find out who sporged me, Usenet never forgets. Consider
yourself to be under invesigation for as long as it takes.
You were not targeted personally. The probability that either Terry or
Loiodice did this is about 2/7,000,000,000.
Somebody has lately been sporge-flooding newsgroups, apparently
selected at random, using the names of actual usenet posters and text
derived from some article or articles about the US government, 3-letter
spook agencies, and routine surveillance of US citizens. Here are two
other samples posted to the same newsgroup at around the same time as
your example, but with different victims in the "From" address.
http://groups.google.ca/group/alt.sci.physics/msg/92dadce84ad46a7c?hl=e
n
http://groups.google.ca/group/alt.sci.physics/msg/a260f715497afa21?hl=e
n
I have been watching this person's activities for the past couple
weeks. Initially he was posting thousands of articles to sci.crypt per
day containing randomly-generated nearly grammatical nonsense. Since
then he has changed tactics, spreading his forgery floods over several
newsgroups at a time.
I recognize the software being used for these sporge floods: it was
written long ago by somebody calling himself "hipcrime" who has, over
the years, periodically used the software to vandalize newsgroups, then
posted a URL where anybody else could download the software if they
wanted to use it. He took care that neither the postings nor the URL
could be used to trace his real location. The latest attacks are
similar except that the postings containing the URL come from ukr.net,
the location of "nucleus".
Nucleus is a long-term nuisance who posted in net-abuse newsgroups,
back when I used to read them, and seemed to think that every method
proposed to make USENET less vulnerable to attack was an intolerable
infringement on his rights. He is clearly the kind of person who would
write such a program and use it. The similarity in behaviour between
nucleus and hipcrime, notably making the software avaiable for free
downloading, suggests that they are one and the same person, but falls
short of proof.
Thanks for that, David, that makes sense. Why do people do that? What's
going on in their heads FFS?
That would require a battery of shrinks to answer...
--
Mark K. Bilbo a.a. #1423
EAC Department of Linguistic Subversion
------------------------------------------------------------
"You know, I'd get it if people were just looking for a
way to fill the holes. But they want the holes. They wanna
live in the holes. And they go nuts when someone else
pours dirt in their holes.
"Climb out of your holes people!"
- Dr. House, on faith
.
|
|
|
|
|
|

|
Related Articles |
|
|