On Thu, 14 Aug 2003 19:36:45 GMT, Mekkala
<joremovedathiskimtoreply@attbi.com> wrote:
I just wondered -- does anyone know if this site is real, or a parody?
I can't seem to find any disclaimer on the site that says it's a joke.
After my mistake in thinking that Landover Baptist was real, I spent
some time recently reading through the site content but I didn't find
anything that was *obviously* a joke, like on Landover Baptist, if you
get further into the site.
On the other hand... I just can't quite believe that *anyone* could be
so incredibly... what can I call it? Words fail me. Well, ok, I *know*
that there are people like that, I've met them. But... come on, it *is*
a parody, right?
It is absolutely for real. Fred Phelps - or someone acting on his
behalf - used to post to alt.atheism. Fly-by trolls, they ignored
the responses to their hate filled sermons. To stupid to debate.
I have just spent a while looking at his site and it looks even
fouler than when I went their about 5 years ago. I think maybe he
is more interested in offending people than in getting converts
to his cause. He comes across like a little boy who craves
attention, even preferring negative attention to being ignored.
Here, for instance, he boasts of how many people dislike him:
http://www.hatemongers.com/links.html
Unpleasant, but probably to stupid to do too much harm.
-
Martin Thomas
mart666t@netscape.NO.HAWKERS.net
.
|